“If I improve my Spanish, when I graduate I will open my Pharmacy here in Spain”

Hello Endy, tell us more about your personal profile: where you come from, what your hobbies are…anything so our readers can get to know you a little bit better!

My name is Endy, I am originally from Syria but I was born in Sweden. I moved to England when I was six years old, I lived in England all of my life until I was eighteen and this is my first year here in Spain, where I study Pharmacy. Abut my hobbies I like reading, shopping, going to the beach and sports and I enjoy tennis a lot!

Why did you choose Pharmacy? Do you have any relatives working in the area or is it just something that you always wanted to do?

The main reason I chose Pharmacy was because all my cousins are pharmacists, so when I was twelve I went on holidays to Syria and I was helping my cousin in the pharmacy when a patient came and thanked her for changing the prescription for the medicine. Just seeing him happy, and changing something about his life made think that was what I wanted to do in life.

I want to help people and make their lives better, and I am also interested in health so I thought about studying Medicine but for me it is too much. Also, my dad is a dentist and when I was young I wanted to be a dentist, but when I grew up I didn’t like it that much. I wanted to go more into the medical area, so that’s why I chose Pharmacy!

What is your favorite subject?

My favorite subjects would have to be Anatomy and Chemistry. I had both this first semester and I have enjoyed them a lot, and my less favorite subject is Biochemistry: it is a little bit too hard!

Where do you see yourself in five years?

If I improve my Spanish and manage to graduate I would like to open my pharmacy here, and I also like all the things related to makeup, so I want to open a pharmacy with a beauty salon! If I cannot do it here I will try to open one in London.

You have also worked with us during this first year…any thoughts about the tasks or the team you have worked with?

Actually I worked only for a couple of months so I didn’t have much time unlike the other interns but for the few months that I have worked here I have enjoyed my time and I have met a lot of people! I met people from all different countries andI made new friends. The department where I work was the International Relation Service, I had to write blogs about students life, organization, I really enjoyed working for the university, I learnt a lot about the university and I met a lot of people, so it has been a very positive experience!

Can you tell us your favorite thing about Valencia?

I don’t have a favorite thing about Valencia, I like everything about Valencia! I like the weather, the beach, the people, the culture here…Spain is a friendly country where everyone is happy, they are social and they like to go out, have fun, they always have a positive attitude with everything but if you want a favorite place I would say two: the beach and the centre of the city around calle Colón. The thing that I like the most is the Spanish culture, I hope that in the future I will have more understanding and learn and enjoy your culture.

Do you have a highlight from this past year?

My highlight of the year would be the people, I met people from Pharmacy, Dentistry, Veterinary…The good thing about this university is that you meet people from all over the world, they study different things and you learn so much about their culture.

What do you do in a normal day here in Moncada?

My usual day would be: wake up have breakfast, go to University until two and then when I finish sometimes I have practicals. W have an hour break, if I have practicals when I finish and we have to study I like to change, have dinner and go to the library of the university, and if I don’t have to study I like to go to the gym, swimming, I go to see my friends and we go to Valencia to find new restaurants, new places, so that’s a normal day for me!

This interview was done by Jorge Navarro Rodríguez, student of 4th year of Advertising & PR
Previous articleThe Erasmus+ experience: Gabriele spends a year studying Pharmacy with us!
Next articleMeet Eirin, a first-year student of Pharmacy from Norway
Diseñadora multimedia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here